Yoga is a vital component of my wellness, and that’s because Ayurveda and yoga are intricately tied together.

Most of the time, you’re used to hearing from me about how Ayurveda can offer you a personalized intervention plan, such as the Ayurvedic cleanse I write about in Cleanse Your Body, Reveal Your Soul.

These two disciplines overlap in key Indian philosophies, at the root of which is Samkhya, which can be translated to either mean “to know truth” or “to measure.” As Dr. Nibodhi Haas writes, the Samkhya is an elegant schematic of the origin of the universe. I would describe it was containing wisdom at a quantum physics level. In coming weeks, I’ll go deeper into the 24 principles of creation that are part of Samkhya. For now, understand it was the root from which Ayurveda and yoga emerged to become the sciences we know today.

Both Ayurveda and yoga evolved with one goal in mind: To create a path as a means to awaken. Central to both is the concept that our bodies are where the soul resides. The soul’s journey is tied to how we chose to live and be in our body…for better or for worse. Our journey toward awakening most often is determined by the conditions we impose upon on our bodies and minds.

Two components are vital for living in balance—living in harmony with the elements and living in harmony with your constitution, or dosha.


Both disciplines teach us that our bodies are made up of the five elements:

  • Ether
  • Air
  • Fire
  • Water
  • Earth.

These elements are vital to our survival on this earth, as we are finding out with water shortages and climate change issues we are facing.

Bringing awareness into our daily lives as to the importance of these elements and their interplay is most important for us to begin today and every day.

Being in gratitude for the gifts of these elements can be a step towards greater awareness of how each of our actions impact those around us and the earth.


Ayurveda teaches that there are three primary body constitutions, and when we understand them, we know how to live in balance. They are:

  • Vata (ether/air)
  • Pitta (fire and some water)
  • Kapha (earth)

So, as you can see, they take account how our bodies live in harmony with the elements.

They are called doshas, and they offer a functional approach to wellness. Ayurveda utilizes knowledge of the doshas to monitor how we navigate our world with the elements in our external environment and the food or drink we consume.

This is why having some awareness of what your predominant dosha allows you to make choices that reduce the imbalances present in your body and mind. Take my dosha quiz to find out more about your constitution!

I hope this explains why you’ll be hearing more from me about the foundational principles of yoga in coming weeks. As always, I’ll be relating it back to the practice of cleansing that I discuss in my book, Cleanse Your Body, Reveal Your Soul, and in the daily habits I teach in my online class, Build a Better Morning. I hope you enjoy the journey!

Be the first to find out! Build a Better Morning, my online class about soul nutrition and self-care

Join my Soul Nutrition mailing list to find out how you can activate your healing wisdom on the deepest level. Keep up with the latest news and events about ayurvedic and integrative wellness and find out about my next goddess journey.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This